Christmas Eve Eve…

Christmas treeOh my goodness, it has been a long time since my last post or even, if I’m being honest, since I’ve been on this blog at all! Things have been busy and it has definitely taken some getting used to this whole being pregnant malarkey.

Just to put it in perspective for you, for like the first 4 months, if I wasn’t at work then I pretty much looked like this…Midge(Image courtesy of our own lazy cat!)

However, thankfully, I now have a bit more energy and currently, a bit more time as we are now on Christmas holidays! I am also attempting… For the first time, at the grand age of 28, to cook Christmas dinner for Mark and I so thought it would be a perfect time to share the seasonal successes and disasters with you all!

So, the menu has been made and the food shopping done! Even the turkey has been collected! After watching Eat Well For Less? – Christmas special, both Mark and I have been really conscious of how much we have been spending and how expensive buying convenience party food and snacks can be, so as much as possible is being home-made. That being said, it does take more prep so I started today with canapés that can be frozen until needed.

Turkey

So today’s jobs were: mini smoked salmon muffins and a variation on these smoked salmon palmiers – using grainy mustard and gruyere cheese instead. The muffins I cooked, cooled and bagged before freezing to reheat in the oven on the day whereas the palmiers were made but frozen uncooked to be sliced and cooked when needed.

The last job of the day was to make the bacon butter for the turkey. The recipe I am using is from BBC Good Food and is super simple – 150g softened butter, 1 tablespoon maple syrup and 150g pancetta or bacon pieces. Cook the bacon until crisp and then whizz up with the butter and syrup before wrapping in cling film and refrigerating until needed.

Bacon butter

Tomorrow is going to be an even busier day of prep so, jobs done for today, it is time to relax with a glass of sparkling… apple juice! Sparkling juiceUntil tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

