A ‘healthy’ chicken wrap…

A few days ago, on route to our next location in Scotland, Mark and I decided to stop off for a quick bite of lunch at a large supermarket. As Mark sauntered off in the direction of a fast food chain for a double cheeseburger I, with great restraint, opted to go further into the shop and find a healthier option. After long deliberation in the sandwich aisle I finally choose a chicken fajita wrap. I was feeling very smug as I sat next to Mark with my choice until I happened to glance at the back of the packet…

packaging

Wowzers. I couldn’t believe how many ingredients were in it and half of them were words I didn’t even know or understand! Suddenly the other half of my wrap didn’t seem so healthy or innocent and I started to wonder how many ingredients I would need to use to re-create something similar.

The full sandwich description was: Chilli tortilla wrap with marinated chicken breast, medium cheddar cheese, sour cream, red pepper, tomatoes, coarse endive leaves, fajita sauce, red onion, salsa and coriander. I wanted to re-create it but in a more economical way so my description is: Tortilla wrap with marinated chicken breast, cheddar cheese, sour cream, lettuce and salsa. My mother in law, with extreme kindness, immediately offered me the use of any ingredients she had in the house which included some tortilla wraps. However, in for a penny in for a pound and I decided that I should also make my own tortilla wraps!

At the point of mentioning that I was going to try and make my own tortillas Mark started to look very depressed… Lunch wasn’t wasn’t to be anytime soon!! After some serious Pinterest researching into tortillas I finally felt equipped enough to start making the components for my wrap.

My ingredient list looked like this:

For the tortillas:

  • Flour
  • Lard
  • Salt
  • Water

For the salsa:

Tomato salsa

  • Tomatoes
  • Red peppers
  • Red onion
  • Coriander
  • Lemon juice
  • Pepper
  • Chilli pepper
  • Olive oil

For the filling:

  • Chicken
  • Cumin
  • Cajun spices
  • Coriander
  • Sour cream
  • Lettuce
  • Cheddar cheese

There you go, 19 ingredients. Not bad compared to over 70 ingredients (ok… some repeated) in the ‘healthy’ wrap I had bought! It really shocked me and has definitely made me more aware of looking at the ingredients in something before buying it. Whilst my wrap didn’t taste exactly the same as the shop one, it tasted very fresh and I felt proud that I knew exactly what ingredients had gone into making it! I was also incredibly surprised how easy it was to make my own tortillas and with the added bonus of being able to freeze them, they are definitely something I would make again!

To see how to re-create my Chicken Fajita wrap head on over to the recipes page and please let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

